2015 - 2016 National Farmed Animal Health & Welfare Council Members


Ed Friesen
Board Member - Dairy Farmers of Canada

Dr. David Fraser
University of British Columbia - Animal Welfare Program

Dr. Barbara Johnstone-Grimmer
Canadian Sheep Federation

Rob McNabb
General Manager, Operations - Canadian Cattlemen’s Association

David Duval
Canadian Pork Council

Marc Cormier
Board Member - Chicken Farmers of Canada

Dr. Jim Fairles
Canadian Veterinary Medical Association

Alain Brandon
Loblaw Companies Limitied

Federal Government:

Donald Boucher
Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada

Steven Sternthal
Director General - Centre for Food-borne, Environmental and Zoonotic Infectious Diseases, Infectious Disease Prevention and Control Branch Public, Health Agency of Canada

Dr. Debbie Barr
A/Director – Animal Health, Welfare & Biosecurity Division

Provincial/Territorial Governments:

Dr. Jane Pritchard
Director - Plant and Animal Branch - BC Agriculture

Dr. Hélène Trépanier
Ministère de l’Agriculture, des Pêcheries et de l’Alimentation,

Dr. Richard Rusk
Government of Manitoba, Manitoba Health, Seniors and Active Living

Dr. Megan Bergman
Manitoba Agriculture, Chief Veterinary Officer

Ex Officio:

Dr. Jaspinder Komal
Acting Chief Veterinary Officer for Canada, CFIA